Agilex在開發和驗證特定免疫腫瘤學療法的類似結合檢測方面擁有豐富的經驗。

從古埃及到 19 世紀初,有多起關於腫瘤自發消失的軼事報導;這些通常發生在感染並伴有高燒之後。早在1863年,德國病理學家魯道夫·維爾喬(Rudolf Virchow)就開始研究腫瘤與炎症之間的聯繫。在他的實驗室工作,Virchow觀察到腫瘤組織通常裝飾有免疫系統的白細胞。

然而,自新千年開始以來,免疫腫瘤學領域作為癌症治療的一種形式,其整體療效取得了指數級的進步。不出所料,Agilex Biolabs一直處於這一關鍵研究的最前沿,始終如一地提供關鍵的科學支援,使藥物開發領域的客戶能夠為該領域做出開創性的貢獻。

近 50 年前,控制腫瘤功能和調節這些通路的他汀類藥物為免疫治療藥物提供了關鍵。干擾素α是FDA批准用於臨床癌症的首批免疫治療藥物之一。其作用是抑制細胞功能、細胞分裂或細胞增殖。然而,這些早期藥物中的許多具有非特異性作用,這意味著它們會在全球範圍內抑制細胞增殖。他們最常在破壞癌細胞時取出健康細胞。

值得慶幸的是,多年來,免疫腫瘤學療法變得更加精細和有針對性。他們已經轉向針對特定細胞表面蛋白的單克隆抗體。簡單地說,它們可以攻擊癌細胞而不會損害健康的身體組織。

特別是在過去的二十年裡,傳統的全身抗癌治療方法發生了重大轉變。細胞毒性化療由靶向任何分裂細胞(包括健康細胞)的化學物質組成。相比之下,免疫腫瘤學通過使用人體的免疫系統來特異性地消除癌細胞來獲得成功。自免疫腫瘤學問世以來,研究人員一直致力於確定許多複雜的信號通路和靶點。這導致了各種免疫療法的發展,這些藥物可以調節對癌症的免疫反應。

如今,有許多 FDA 批准的免疫療法可用,包括檢查點抑製劑。該領域已經從使用某種通用方法發展到開發新的治療方法,其中包括更多定製和個人化的方法。顯然,通過識別免疫系統靶點的發展,免疫腫瘤學已經從一個理論概念轉變為癌症患者成功的臨床治療。

就Agilex Biolabs而言,他們的研究人員一直處於細胞基因治療中這些新技術的最前沿,為靶向免疫腫瘤疾病的新藥開發檢測方法。此外,免疫調節劑療法,包括可被描述為自我靶向免疫腫瘤學項目,在過去十年中大幅增加。隨著該領域藥物開發的過去十年的增加,Agilex已經看到了我們用於開發和驗證檢測的技術類型的隨之變化。

Agilex現在在開發和驗證特定免疫腫瘤學療法的配體結合測定方面擁有豐富的經驗。其中一些可能靶向免疫細胞或癌細胞上的細胞表面受體。這些可能包括具有雙重作用模式的雙特異性抗體,靶向免疫細胞群,但也靶向腫瘤本身癌症群中的細胞。

在Agilex,我們對平臺的選擇很大程度上取決於分子本身。如果它是一種靶向細胞內信號轉導途徑的小分子藥物 - 例如,調節以抑制腫瘤進展 - Agilex科學家可能會使用液相色譜質譜法。如果配體結合測定是較大的肽、單克隆抗體或雙特異性或抗體-藥物偶聯物,我們的專家可能會使用配體結合測定。一般來說,隨著小分子和大分子與化學連接劑的融合,我們的研究人員可能會同時使用這兩個平臺。平台的選擇總是由藥物驅動的。

由於開發資金非常寶貴,項目贊助者會正確地詢問開發的藥物是否真的具有預期的效果。在Agilex,我們也對此感到好奇。該藥物是否在調節細胞群?它是否調節免疫功能?諸如此類的問題貫穿於開發過程的每一步。

Agilex的科學家可以進行各種藥效學測定。這些技術使我們能夠詳細說明患者體內存在的特定免疫細胞群。然後,我們的研究人員可以確定藥物在這些人群中的實際作用。藥物是否激活細胞內的特定途徑?它是否會導致細胞增殖?流式細胞術成為我們團隊確定整體療效的有力工具。

憑藉二十多年的經驗,Agilex通過不斷獲取科學專業知識和最先進的技術,有意識地進入了免疫腫瘤學的新時代。這些戰略投資使Agilex能夠靈活和敏捷地處理專案,提供既準時又準時的解決方案。我們的客戶經常在尋找一個能夠在臨床試驗前的有限時間範圍內開發新專案(或挽救停滯不前的專案)的實驗室。

在當今的臨床試驗環境中,大多數客戶都在尋找「一站式服務」。項目贊助者越來越不願意將他們的專案分散到多個實驗室。Agilex科學家是迄今為止我們最大的資產。我們的團隊通過參加世界各地的免疫腫瘤學會議和活動,與尖端技術和研究保持同步。我們的研究人員由站在最新技術和工藝前沿的科學家組成。我們的員工配備了最新的資訊、儀器和創新技術,擁有解決複雜問題、從其他實驗室拯救複雜專案以及開發定製檢測方法所需的廣泛經驗。

項目實例(Agilex員工)

擁有開發可行檢測方法的專業知識和設施是一回事。拯救停滯不前的專案是一種高價值的商品。但是,將這些優勢與按時交付這些檢測的成熟能力相結合,使Agilex實驗室領先於其競爭對手。在2023年,Agilex完全準備好在這個新時代引領,成為一家科學第一、科學驅動的生物分析公司。立即聯繫我們的項目專家,討論貴公司的需求、時程表和預期成果。

要瞭解有關在澳大利亞開展藥物開發計劃或Agilex Biolabs的更多資訊,請立即聯繫我們的專家。

Agilex has extensive experience developing and validating like-binding assays for specific immune-oncology therapeutics.

From ancient Egypt to the early 19th century, there have been multiple anecdotal reports of tumors disappearing spontaneously; these typically occurred after an infection with a concomitant high fever. As early as 1863, Rudolf Virchow, a German pathologist, began investigating the connection between tumors and inflammation. Working in his lab, Virchow observed that neoplastic tissues were often decorated with leukocytes of the immune system.

However, since the dawn of the new millennium, the field of immuno-oncology has made exponential strides in its overall efficacy as a form of cancer treatment. Unsurprisingly, Agilex Biolabs has been at the forefront of this critical research, consistently providing key scientific support to enable clients in the drug development arena to make groundbreaking contributions to the field.

Nearly 50 years ago, statin inhibitors, which control tumor function and the regulation of those pathways, provided the key to immunotherapeutic drugs. Interferon Alpha was one of the first immunotherapeutic drugs approved by the FDA for clinical use in cancer. The effect was one of inhibiting cell function, cell division, or cell proliferation. However, many of these early drugs had a non-specific effect, meaning they would inhibit cell proliferation in a global manner. They most often took out healthy cells as they destroyed cancerous ones.

Over the years, thankfully, immuno-oncology therapeutics have become more refined and targeted. They’ve moved to monoclonal antibodies which are targeted against specific cell-surface proteins. Simply stated, they attack cancer cells without damage to healthy body tissue.

These past two decades, in particular, there has been a major shift in the traditional approach to systemic anticancer therapy. Cytotoxic chemotherapy consisted of chemicals that targeted any dividing cell, including healthy ones. In contrast, immuno-oncology earns its success by using the body’s immune system to specifically eliminate cancer cells. Since immuno-oncology’s inception, researchers have worked to identify the many complex signaling pathways and targets. This has led to the development of various immunotherapy agents that modulate the immune response to cancer.

Today, there are numerous FDA-approved immunotherapies available, including checkpoint inhibitors. The field has gone from using something of a generic approach to developing new treatments that include more customized and individualized methodologies. Clearly, immuno-oncology has moved from a theoretical concept to a successful clinical treatment for cancer patients through developments in identifying targets in the immune system.

For their part, researchers at Agilex Biolabs have been at the forefront of these new techonologies in cell gene therapy, developing assays for novel drugs for targeted immuno-oncology diseases. Additionally, immunomodulator therapies, including what could be described as self-targeted immuno-oncology programs, have increased considerably over the last decade. As drug development has increased over the last sort of decade in this area, Agilex has seen a concomitant change in the type of technologies that we use for developing and validating assays.

Agilex now has extensive experience developing and validating ligand binding assays for specific immuno-oncology therapeutics. Some of these might target cell-surface receptors on immune cells or cancer cells. These might include bispecific antibodies which have a dual mode of action, targeting the immune cell population but also a cell within the cancer population within the tumor itself.

At Agilex, our choice of platform depends largely on the molecule itself. If it’s a small-molecule drug that targets the intracellular signal transduction pathway – for example, modulated to inhibit tumor progression – Agilex scientists might use liquid chromatography mass spectrometry. Our experts might use a ligand binding assay if it’s a larger peptide, a monoclonal antibody, or a bispecific or antibody-drug conjugate. Generally, with the fusion of both a small and large molecule with a chemical linker, our researchers might use both platforms. The choice of platform is always driven by the drug.

With development funding at a premium, project sponsors rightly ask whether the developed drug is actually having the desired effect. At Agilex, we’re curious about this as well. Is the drug modulating a cell population? Is it modulating the immune function? Questions such as these inform every step of the development process.

The scientists at Agilex can perform a variety of pharmacodynamic assays. These techniques allow us to elaborate on specific immune cell populations present within the patient. Our researchers can then determine how the drug actually functions in these populations. Is the drug activating specific pathways within the cell? Is it causing cells to proliferate? Flow cytometry becomes a powerful tool for our team to determine overall efficacy.

With well over two decades of experience, Agilex has intentionally moved into a new era of immuno-oncology through its ongoing acquisition of scientific expertise and state-of-the-art technology. These strategic investments have allowed Agilex to approach projects with flexibility and agility, delivering solutions that are both on point and on time. Our clients are often looking for a lab that’s with a track record of being able to develop new projects (or rescue stalled ones) within constrained timeframes ahead of a clinical trial.

In today’s clinical trial landscape, most clients are looking for “a one-stop shop.” Project sponsors have grown increasingly averse to splitting their programs across multiple labs. Agilex scientists are by far our greatest asset. Our teams stay abreast of cutting-edge technology and research by attending immuno-oncology conferences and events around the world. Our researchers are comprised of scientists that stand at the forefront of the latest technologies and techniques. Equipped with the latest information, instrumentation, and innovations, our people have the breadth of experience necessary to solve complicated problems, rescue complex projects from other labs, and develop customized assays.

PROJECT EXAMPLES (Agilex Staff)

Having the expertise and facilities to develop workable assays is one thing. Rescuing stalled projects is a high-value commodity. But combining those strengths with a proven ability to deliver those assays on time puts Agilex Laboratories ahead of its competitors. In 2023, Agilex is perfectly poised to lead out in this new era as a science-first, science-driven bioanalytical company. Contact one of our project specialists today to discuss your company’s needs, timeline, and desired outcomes.

To learn more about conducting your drug development program in Australia or about Agilex Biolabs, contact our experts today.